2023 SIGEVO Outstanding Contribution Award

Dr. Carlos A. Coello Coello received on July 19th, the ACM Special Interest Group on Evolutionary Algorithms (SIGEVO) Outstanding Contribution Award from Dr. Franz Rothlauf, Chair of the SIGEVO Executive Committee.

The award recognizes Professor Coello Coello for pioneering contributions to single- and multiobjective optimization techniques using bioinspired metaheuristics.

The event took place in Lisbon, Portugal, and brought together several of the researchers who received this award in past years, such as Marc Schoenauer, Darrell Whitley, Kenneth de Jong, Una May O'Reilly, Erik Goodman and Wolfgang Banzhanf. At this year's ceremony, Dr. Emma Hart, who is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Evolutionary Computation (published by MIT Press), was honoured with the same award.



About Carlos A. Coello Coello

Carlos Artemio Coello Coello is leader of the combinatorial Optimization group at the Basque Center for Applied Mathematics (BCAM) and Cinvestav 3F researcher in the Department of Computer Science at the Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados of the Instituto Politécnico Nacional.

He studied at the Faculty of Civil Engineering of the Autonomous University of Chiapas and holds a master's degree and a PhD in Computer Science from Tulane University in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA.

He has published more than 190 journal articles; four books, including Evolutionary algorithms for solving multi-objective problems (Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2002; Spinger, 2007), which has been adopted as a text for graduate courses in various parts of the world, as well as the popular book Breve historia de la computación y sus pioneros (Breve historia de la computación y sus pioneros) (Fondo de Cultura Económica, 2003). In addition, he has published 60 book chapters in English and more than 25,700 citations of his work are reported to date.

He has received twelve national and international awards and distinctions, including the 2013 IEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award for "outstanding mid-career contributions to a technology that promises to lead to novel applications", the National Prize for Sciences and Arts in 2012, the Marcos Moshinsky Chair, the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation Outstanding Paper Award twice (2013 and 2015), the 2016 TWAS Award in Engeneering Sciencies and the 2021 IEEE Computational Intelligence Society Evolutionar Computation Pioneer Award.

As of January 2021, he became the first Latin American to hold the position of Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation (published by IEEE Press), the journal with the highest impact factor in his field.

In 2022, Guide2Research's Ranking of Top 1000 Scientist in the Field of Computer Science and Electronics ranks him 284th worldwide and number one in Mexico.